top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejoonsjunie

Types of Kpop Stans that need to GO


This might be my most controversial post. Maybe. I’m going to be talking about the type of Kpop stans I see, but don’t like. A quick disclaimer. I am not a boy group stan. I stan both female and male idols. In fact, I stan more girl groups to guy groups, 10:18. Yes I am a 3rd generation Kpop stan but I was listening to Kpop in 2010. My opinions from a moarmy point of view, because that’s what my feed is filled with so. Kind discussion is welcome in the comments.


The Edgy Girl Group Stans


These are the stans think of themselves as better because they stan girl groups. No they are not the same as girl group stans. Many claim to be big feminist but will turn around and hate on other girl groups. Typically they hate boy groups and their stans. I have seen many tweets asking boy group stans to name girl groups other than the main three. This is stupid because you only stan girl groups and would be able to name any of the smaller boy groups. Also it’s not like most EGS know smaller groups, like don’t go on music shows small. Only liking one gender of groups is okay. Only knowing popular groups is okay. Listen to what music you want. Also hate in on boy groups is not going to get your group more popularity.


“Blinks”


There are quotations for a reason. These are a different breed and I personally don’t consider them fans. I am a blink but I don’t immerse myself into the fandom anymore. This is because of how many people didn’t support all the members equally and how toxic they were. The blink fandom has some of the most toxic fans I have seen. I do know that there are some cool blinks so the entire fandom is not rotten. You don’t have to be an OT4 to love all the members. I won’t get into fan wars because there are always two sides. Now maybe they have changed since I was last in the fan idk.


Armymultis


CEOs of “I’m an army but”. There are two types of these fans. The ones who claim to hate BTS until they have a comeback or tour. The ones who claim to love BTS but will throw them under the bus to protect another group. Sometimes these run together. As a big multi, you can stan as many groups as you want. You can get involved in disputes between fandoms and still respect both groups. I should know I’m a armyblink and a moatiny. These two fandoms have had fan wars and I have been able to have opinions on them without hurting or insulting either group.


Old Generation Fans


This isn’t all of them but some. OGF love to talk about how Kpop fans are only here because Kpop is popular. They also complain about how we don’t stan older groups. There is literally nothing wrong with stanning Kpop now that it’s popular. It’s not your fault that you are only now exposed to Kpop. Nothing is wrong with not listening to older groups Also why would I stan a group that is either disbanded or rarely ever promotes. I only stan one disbanded group, my first group, Crayon Pop. Note the above tweet is not that bad but I honestly couldn’t find the one I bookmarked.


Fake Fans


These are not in the way you might be thinking. These fake fans are the ones who are not a part of a fandom but want to cause drama. So they will change their username and profile picture and insult another group. Sometimes it’s a fan of the group they insult and sometimes it's someone that doesn’t stan  either group. For the first option I never understood how they can insult their idol yet still call themselves a fan. For the second option I literally have no idea what they gain.


Fancam Fans


I have nothing against fancams. I actually love them cause it helps me find new groups to stan. However the spam has to go. I should not click on a trending word and see your paragraph of unrelated words plus a fancam. Adding a fancam when you are replying to a Kpop tweet? Okay. Tweeting a fancam when another cancelled party trends? Okay, because the majority of them are stupid and it’s not like anyone else is explaining it. But replying a fancam under a post that isn’t Kpop related? No, because typically you are being rude. Good Day.


Conclusion


That’s it for this time. I have a few more I could add, but I don’t want this to be too long. So yeah like I said kind discussion is welcome. But don’t yell. This is a short conclusion.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page